RSS

N is Seven!

26 Mar
N is Seven!

So it turns out I’m not a birthday party kind of mom.  I was never really sure and could picture myself either way, but it has been confirmed.  The pressure to make everyone happy and keep the celebrated child from melting down at their own party.  The pressure to get all the right photos at all the right times.  The pressure to make a perfect cake that is both delicious and cute and suits the child.  I thrive under certain kinds of pressure.  These kinds do not make me thrive.  They make me want to crawl into a hole and hide for a while.

I gave it a shot, the whole birthday party thing.  It wasn’t a disaster.  It wasn’t fun either, at least not for me, and apparently not for the birthday boy who spent most of the time wailing.  But thankfully the party was only a little slice of our day, a day spent celebrating a very special boy who just turned 7 YEARS OLD!  Which brings me back to the reason I’m writing this blog post in the first place: N!  Our beloved N.  He is silly and loves to laugh.  He can make himself laugh for no reason at all.  To the unfamiliar eye, he may seem lazy, but we know he is just a laid-back kind of guy.  Which is why a trip to the beach was the perfect outing for him.  This was N’s first time at the beach, and he loved all of it.  The sand, the water, the nap in the shade, even the hour and a half drive each way.  And it was great for Wilson and I to spend some quality time with just him, getting to know him better, and reminding him how loved he is.  But I’ll keep the chitchat to a minimum and just show some fun pictures of our day.

This was our first birthday celebration in the Promise House.  I stressed all week about that stinkin’ birthday party, planning and Pinteresting.  The beach was a last minute decision but was what made the day so special for N.  He didn’t care that I burned the cake so badly that we had to cut a bunch off and hide it with purple frosting.  But he also wouldn’t have cared if I made a cake that won Cake Wars.  (Is that still/ever a thing?)

 

He could not have cared less about his presents—though that guitar has kept M quiet for DAYS, mom, so money well spent ;)—and he didn’t seem to notice who was or wasn’t at his party.  So it turns out I’m not a birthday party kind of mom.  But I don’t think I have to be.  I’m just a quality time kind of mom, getting to know her kids, and reminding them how loved they are.  Next time, we’ll just skip the party 🙂

Children of the Promise has given explicit permission for the posting of photos on this site.  Photos taken of children in the care of Children of the Promise are not be posted publicly without explicit permission given by Children of the Promise.
 

6 responses to “N is Seven!

  1. Grandma :)

    March 26, 2016 at 8:18 pm

    So glad Monel loves Nikensly’s present, and I wish I could take credit for it, but the noisemaking guitar is a gift from Aunt Julie 🙂 And his new shorts and shirt look great!!

     
    • nursegal513

      March 27, 2016 at 4:27 am

      Thanks, Aunt Julie! 🙂 He does look pretty handsome in the outfit!

       
  2. Paul Park

    March 27, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Awesome idea! Bday cake looks good to me. 🙂

    Blessings to Chery clan!

     
    • nursegal513

      March 27, 2016 at 6:08 pm

      Thanks! It tasted pretty good after removing all the burnt parts, too 🙂

       
  3. Jon Kim

    April 1, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Happy birthday Nik!! BTW that cake looks delicious! What an awesome way to celebrate a special day.

     
    • nursegal513

      April 1, 2016 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks, Jon! We are already brainstorming awesome ways to celebrate the rest of the kids’ birthdays 🙂

       

What do you think?

 
