RSS

A trip to the market

25 Jun

There are certain things I am just terrible at, and I’ve come to embrace the reality that grocery shopping is one of them.  It usually takes me a couple hours as I hem and haw over the gajillion brands and varieties of each product, trying to balance cost and quality with the list in my hand.  I’m currently eating a Cheerio’s knockoff that tastes a lot like cardboard because my money-saving tendencies got the best of me on my last trip to the grocery store.  I know no one is surprised.  Never mind multitasking.  If my phone rings while I’m grocery shopping, I either wander in useless circles or stop moving altogether.

Yet for some reason I always think I will like going to the market in Haiti.  About three umbrellas in, I remember how I really feel about it.  To be fair, it’s pretty similar to how I feel about any bustling marketplace or busy city that some people seem to really enjoy.  I was on a mission to get these photos but after the first couple shots, I gave Wilson the camera and clung to his shirt while he finished the tour and bought some potatoes.  There is a section of the market for meat, but Wilson buys more locally when he knows someone is butchering so it’s not sitting in the sun all day before we get it.  We’ll leave out the rest of my biased thoughts and just let you experience the Haitian market through these pictures:

IMG_1341

IMG_1316

IMG_1317

IMG_1318

IMG_1319

IMG_1324

IMG_1334

IMG_1331

It’s the opposite of Costco…buy only what you need right now.

IMG_1322

A whole street filled with chickens was a bit overwheming and I’m not sure why they have those colored markings

IMG_1332

IMG_1336

Charcoal

IMG_1337

Those are cashews on the right

IMG_1326

IMG_1328

IMG_1329

 

 

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “A trip to the market

  1. Julie DenOuden (@jmdenouden)

    June 25, 2014 at 6:27 am

    All of that fruit looks sooo yummy!

     
  2. ref65

    June 25, 2014 at 6:27 am

    Oh my gosh! You got great pics!! Thank you for taking these! It was one thing I really regret not getting pictures of for Wilson Manno but I didn’t want to be intrusive.
    I’ve never seen so many flies in my life. I still have trouble looking at fish.

     

What do you think?

 
