RSS

Personal Prayer Request

20 Jun

As the months and years pass, we have witnessed together this resounding truth: God hears the prayers of His people.  This community of believers, some of whom I have never met, have prayed in unison for prisoners to be set free, families to be united, little bodies and hearts of all sizes to be healed.  Though impossible to predict His answer, we can be sure He always hears us and will make all things work together for good.  Perhaps a good we couldn’t even imagine.  It’s easy to ask for prayers on behalf of others, but for some reason I’ve been finding it difficult to broadcast personal requests.  I feel like I need to say that I understand others have gone through much worse, for much longer.  But this is just where we are right now…

If you have a moment, I beg you to pray for Wilson’s visa to come as quickly as possible.  I know some of you are already on your knees regarding this process and we are so grateful.  When we were married last August we were told he’d have a visa by February, so when I moved back to the states in November we never imagined we’d be living apart this long.  We’ve been trying to focus on the good like being able to visit so frequently and the chances we have to video chat.  But everything else is starting to overwhelm us.

Logistically, I am not allowed to defer any more quarters in my master’s program so I need to start my clinical rotations in September.  I simply cannot work, attend clinicals, and travel to Haiti simultaneously.  Wilson and I have now been married 10 months and we are building the foundations of our marriage on scattered skype calls and one week together each month of the furthest thing from real life as you can get.  I have been back five times since January and the little glamour travel held before has long since faded.  When I’m back in California, I am worn out from making up the shifts I missed with an underlying current of jetlag keeping me awake at all the wrong times so that my most common emotion is just tired.  We have been patient.  We have been optimistic.  But we are wearing thin and the finish line is looking more and more like a mere mirage in the desert.  There is power in prayer, whether it changes our situation or changes us, we need the power of God in our lives one way or another.  And I know how much you all want to meet Wilson 😉

image (19)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2014 in Prayer, Sheila, Wilson

 

5 responses to “Personal Prayer Request

  1. Anna

    June 20, 2014 at 6:31 am

    We love you, Sheila and Wilson! You will get through this! As someone who’s had a number of ‘way less than ideal’ circumstances happen in early marriage, the best advice I have for you is to just resolve to hang in there…and hold onto whatever Scriptural truths that are especially meaningful to you in this season! Also, sometimes it’s better to not compare yourselves to the ‘ideal’ and instead compare to how much worse it could be. 🙂 Love you!

     
  2. Nora Saggese

    June 20, 2014 at 6:55 am

    I know only in part how you feel. It was 31 years ago that I started this process…Forever God is faithful…Forever God is strong…forever God is with you forever…He is in this…He will make a way…He will…I daily pray…I daily pray. I am holding your hand and asking God to let me carry some of the pain…I know that there will come a day…praying

     
  3. Kris Thede

    June 20, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Still praying.

     
  4. Connie Hendriks

    June 20, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    prayin that you are together in the USA soon!

     
  5. shell

    June 25, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    my heart aches for the two of you. can’t wait to meet wilson.

     

What do you think?

 
