RSS

Grateful in Chicago

18 Mar

As many of you know, I recently started a job back at Long Beach Memorial where I worked before moving to Haiti.  Instead of orthopedics, I’m now working in neurology, but on the same floor with many of the same managers and coworkers.  It has quickly become clear that I am working primarily to fund my travels: mostly to Haiti, but I spent the last 5 days in Chicago.  My in-flight reading was a book called Love Does by Bob Goff (thanks for sending it, Anna!) and I would highly recommend it.  At one point, he refers to his day job as an attorney as fundraising for his global pursuit of justice in situations like child trafficking.  Maybe one day, nursing here in the states will just be fundraising for however God is using me and Wilson in Haiti.  But for now, it’s raising funds for airfare, which brings us back to Chicago.

Half of my time in Chicago was spent with one of my college roommates, Bethany, and her new husband, Ajay.  It is always so great to connect with good friends.  I met Bethany at the start of my freshman year at Hope College.  During the first week of school, I locked myself out of my dorm room when I went to take a shower and my roommate had already fallen asleep.  Bethany, who lived in the room next door, came to my rescue and let me sleep in her room for the night.  We’ve been pals ever since J  From great Chicago dining to late night conversations, searching Ikea for the perfect desk, and trying to find some hair products for Wilson, we had a fantastic time.  Wilson is apparently growing out his hair.  I’ve never seen it long and I’m not too fond of the in-between “pokey” stage, so this is the perfect time for the endeavor.  I have no idea if I bought anything remotely helpful in this process.  We’ll post some pics on my trip later this month.

But I’m getting off topic.  This particular weekend was chosen because a very dear little boy was being baptized.  It’s hard to describe the emotions exactly.  I think the one overpowering the rest is grateful.  Grateful for the 2 years I had to hold and care for him.  Grateful for the deep capacity to love and be loved by a child who is not even my own.  Grateful that he is part of a perfect, divinely appointment family with a devoted mom and two very special brothers.  Grateful for the evidence of a faith legacy in his life: a loving church family, Bible stories before bedtime, and the way those three boys volunteer to pray before meals before they’re even asked.  Grateful that when he left Haiti last fall, it wasn’t the end of our story, that I still get to hear how he’s doing and fly to Chicago to witness such an important day in his life.  So grateful.

The big reunion

The big reunion

this kid is so much fun!

This kid is so much fun!

“Super” sums it up

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2014 in The Kiddos, Travel

 

3 responses to “Grateful in Chicago

  1. ref65

    March 18, 2014 at 6:56 am

    Big tears right now. We miss you SO much! Daniel and Wilson were playing a game yesterday where they would look out the window and yell, ‘here comes Sheila!’
    Thank you so much for coming to see us. Please come back anytime!

     

What do you think?

 
