RSS

White Bird

20 Jan

I saw them through the windshield at a red light.  Their circular pattern was irregular and seemingly senseless, but they were perfectly synchronized.  There’s nothing particularly special about them.  We’ve all seen those small flocks of birds that fly in and perch together on the telephone wires overhead.  And I don’t know why they caught my attention on that particular day at that particular time.  My eyes were immediately drawn to one of the birds, a white one.  For whatever reason, or for no reason at all, she was the only white bird amidst a sea of gray companions.

You are the white bird.

That same weekend I was sitting in church with my sister.  It’s a wonderful church.  The people are friendly and care about their community of Huntington Beach.  The pastor is biblical and relevant and keeps me awake even at the early service.  The music, even though I’m behind on all these new songs, is lovely.  Yet for whatever reason, or no reason at all, I kept thinking I would feel so much more at home in a Haitian church.

You are the white bird.

So I went home and searched the internet for Haitian communities, a Haitian church, here in southern California.  I just wanted to speak Kreyol, to feel at home.  This was much more difficult than I had anticipated!  Did you know that over 70% of Haitian immigrants live in Florida or New York?  Another 15% are in New Jersey and Massachusetts.  I suppose the locations make sense, but I would have thought more Haitians would have trickled into the rest of the country.  I don’t know where I fit in here.  I don’t know if I want to fit in here.  But I know I want to be home.

You are the white bird.

I began to strongly believe (and hope) that this was confirmation that Wilson and I are called to return to Haiti in the future.  And maybe that is still God’s calling on our life.  But God began to reveal in my heart a deeper truth.

I don’t want you to feel at home in Haiti, either.

The truth is, “this world is not our home; we are looking forward to a home yet to come” Hebrews 13:14

You, my beautiful white bird, are meant for a life here with me, for all eternity.

white bird

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 20, 2014 in Sheila

 

One response to “White Bird

  1. ref65

    January 20, 2014 at 6:35 am

    Wow! Beautifully written.

     

What do you think?

 
