RSS

Catching up in California!

30 Aug

I have one week left in the states before heading back to Haiti.  Is it hard to be away from my husband (woah, weird using that word)?  Yes!  Of course!  But it is only two weeks and in addition to talking on the phone nearly every day, I have kept busy with a variety of activities.  Here are some of the highlights:

My sister planned the most perfect bridal shower and bachelorette newlywed parties.  The best part, besides the dancing, was being surprised by visits from my college roommates (Anna, Bethany, & Laura) and my out-of-town cousin (Kelli).  It was a whirlwind weekend but so great to see those girls!

I saw my doctor and my dentist who both deemed me a healthy human being.  Hooray!  I remember when I first moved to Haiti and how I seemed to almost always be sick.  Haiti and I are much better acquainted these days.

Visiting King’s Church in Long Beach, where my parents attend, is always a special treat.  I did not grow up in this church, my parents have only been going for a few years, during most of which I was already living in Haiti, yet I always encounter overwhelming support from this congregation.  Macy, Gloria, Janice, Jennifer, Nathan, and many more have provided various avenues of support and encouragement.  And I came home this past Sunday with a car full of gifts for our kiddos!

When Julie and I went to Costco to pick up my prescription, we hit the jackpot on free samples – salmon, tri-tip, pork chops, salad, just to name a few.  There just is no Haitian equivalent to a good Costco sample day!

On Thursday I had the chance to meet with a nutrition professor from CSULB who also happens to go to my parents’ church.  We are developing a research project to be conducted in villages near COTP in order to really understand what our community needs, rather than what we think they need, and what will really help them, rather than what we think will help them.  I am very excited about diving into this project!

It’s not just friends from far away that excite me…I have also been able to connect with friends from right here in southern California.  At dinner last night Megan and Traci brought up a very interesting question: What would it take for Wilson and I to decide to live in the U.S.?  The question was partly from missing one another and partly facetious (right, girls?) but was very thought provoking.  Another blog, perhaps J

There are still a few things on our to-do list.  Talking to the attorney about progress on Wilson’s visa (pray, pray, pray), purchasing a new computer since mine is officially defunct and school starts again on Monday, and an open house at my parents’ house with amazing Haitian food.  If you know where my parents live, drop by between 4:30 and 7:30 this Sunday.  I would love to see all of you!

Friends

Shower

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2013 in Sheila

 

3 responses to “Catching up in California!

  1. Heather

    August 30, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Awww, I miss you Sheila!!! (And the Den Ouden family!) Wish we could be there for the open house. 😦 …maybe you should swing by Virginia on your way back to Haiti — doesn’t Brian get free airfare for family or something? And he’s “only” about 6 or 7 hours from here… Just throwing it out there. 😉

     
  2. Kristen McClain

    September 2, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Glad we made the trip & got to see you at the bridal shower & newlywed line dancing 🙂

     
  3. Megan

    September 17, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Um … totally not kidding. 😉

     

What do you think?

 
