RSS

I Do

22 Aug

It’s a day that many envision and dream about from the time they are little girls.  They picture what their dress will look like, the church, the flowers, the bridesmaids, and of course, the groom.  Though I have been asked many times over the years, I have never been able to picture any details of my wedding day, never known where, when, or how it would happen, and I certainly had no predictions for my future husband.

Now that the day has come and gone, I know exactly why those details never came to mind.  I could never have imagined, in all my wildest dreams, exactly what this day would hold.

I never would have imagined that we would laugh all the way to the palace because we literally had sweat streaming down our bodies.  That one bridesmaid would be, “sweating from her eyebrows” and the rest of us wishing that were the only place we were sweating from.

I never would have imagined that my sister, just days before the wedding, would carry through various airports a dress that I had never tried on.  That it would fit perfectly despite the cautions of the saleswoman in the states.

I never would have imagined we would be married in the ruins of the king’s palace on the side of a mountain.  A place so beautiful that any attempts at decorating it would not only be unnecessary but detrimental.  And I never would have imagined this venue would cost us exactly $10.

I never would have imagined two such perfect little Haitian boys carrying our rings and a precious little girl walking with them.  That one would need to be bribed with Tampico (Haitian sugary drink) in order to walk down the aisle…anyone guess which one?

I never would have imagined that there would be as many on-lookers of our ceremony as there were actual invited guests.  That I would find this sweet and not even a little bit annoying.

I never would have imagined a buffet of rice and beans, plaintains, akra, chicken, goat, pikliz, and ice cream.  That a box of strawberries would be flown in from Florida that morning as a special surprise.

I never would have imagined that my groom would be, in the words of my grandma, hot fudge sauce to my vanilla ice cream.  That we would say our vows in a language in which, just two years ago, I didn’t even know how to say hello.  That he would take me home to what, only months ago, was an old medical clinic, but that he had transformed into a beautiful home for us.

I never would have imagined the trials that would surround the month of our wedding.  That I would bring my mother-in-law to the hospital the night before.  That my brother-in-law would not be with us because of corrupt and unjust imprisonment. That my new grandmother would be spending her last day on earth while we were celebrating the start of our new life as a married couple.

And I never would have imagined the joy that would take place on that day.  The joy despite the trials, despite the devil’s best efforts.  The joy in finding, falling in love with, and marrying the person God had chosen for us to spend our lives with.  The joy in looking toward the many ways God will use us a unified force in His kingdom.

I could not have dreamt any of it but I wouldn’t have wanted to.  I could never have come up with a day as perfect as the Lord had planned.  A husband as perfect as the Lord has provided.

Wedding

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2013 in Sheila

 

4 responses to “I Do

  1. Anna

    August 22, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    LOVE YOU and praising the Lord for this blessed union!!!

     
  2. Kris Thede

    August 22, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Praying for you both as you start your new life together.

     
  3. Jamie Groen

    August 23, 2013 at 7:06 am

    Blessings Chery family! So glad to hear the day went well!

     

What do you think?

 
