RSS

A New Normal: Part One

02 Aug

Even when you’re living in Haiti, you sometimes just have to take a timeout and look at your life.  Your Christian life.  Carla and I have been chatting a lot lately about our standards of living and whether we’re using too much or giving enough.  A common debate among expats is what comforts of life are necessary for missional longevity and what is excess that should be redirected.  We see waste in various forms but know that when it really comes down to it, we have to examine ourselves first and make changes within our own lives.  I don’t know where my line is that would drive me out of third world living and back to the comforts of home(?), but we want to get as close to that line as we can.  I have a feeling that the closer we get, the further God will move it.  Living in a tent one day?  Just maybe 😉

Today is Day One of our self-appointed challenge: Make one small change each week that will become the “new normal.”  It doesn’t have to be anything drastic, but it has to stick.  I thought I’d share this journey with you each week and if you want to join with us in these adjustments, we’d love to hear how you’re own life is changing.  If you have ideas for us, we’d appreciate it as well because, let’s be honest, we’re going to run out of ideas!

Tithe Ten Percent.  This is something I always did back in the states when I got an allowance or a paycheck but for some reason, I stopped doing this when I began raising support and instead got a monthly stipend for groceries, etc.  We see so many people come through our gates who really just need financial help.  A baby who needs heart surgery, a mom who can’t scrounge up enough money for rent or even formula, an old man who needs his cataracts removed.  I hate saying no to these legitimate needs.  We do have a community aid budget at COTP but it’s just not big enough for the things that we see.  So starting today (or when our awesome finance girls give me my stipend envelope) I am setting aside 10% into our own little community aid fund.  I am so excited to see how God will multiply what we are giving back to Him to bless our neighbors in Haiti!

Do you have any great tithing stories of how you were able to meet someone else’s needs?  Or have you tithed in faith and God reached down to meet your needs?  Have you never tithed before or gotten out of the habit but you’re going to start again?

MoneyThis is my 10% tithe. 650 Haitian gourdes is equivalent to 130 Haitian dollars and is a little more than US $15.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in Haitian Reflections, Sheila

 

One response to “A New Normal: Part One

  1. mim0thorns

    December 17, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    I love this idea. Have you made any more “new normals”?

     

What do you think?

 
