RSS

Good and Perfect Gifts

11 Mar

Even When

In the midst of such a difficult season, I’ve found myself wanting, needing, to take a moment to recognize all that the Lord has done this week.

Schneider has been living with us since last April.  His mom has always loved him a lot but her story is complex and it has taken a while for her situation to be stable enough to care for him.  On Monday things came together kind of unexpectedly and Schneider was able to be reunited with him mom.  We are so happy for both of them!

 Schneider(Schneider – admit and discharge)

Wilson’s brother Emilio has made a full recovery after a pretty scary motorcycle accident.  After a few antibiotic injections and many dressing changes, he is now walking without his crutches and without any signs of infection.  Manno may have found a calling as a future doctor as he was often my little assistant during Emilio’s care.  He even has great bedside manner, always making sure I gave Emilio a candy at the end if he didn’t cry.  I wish I had snatched a picture with his big floppy gloves and his even bigger grin!

We are putting the finishing touches on the first child home on the back property.  The Willis Family moves to Haiti this coming week so we can start moving our kiddos out of the baby house and into smaller family settings.  This is a fundamental change in our model of care and everyone has been working hard to make it a reality.

This was my first week of grad school as I aim to become a Family Nurse Practitioner.  Even with everything else going on, I was able to complete all my assignments on time.  I am so excited about everything I am learning because it will help me to take better care of our kiddos!

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”  James 1:17

What good and perfect gifts has our unchanging Father given to you this week?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2013 in Haitian Reflections, The Kiddos

 

2 responses to “Good and Perfect Gifts

  1. Tanya

    March 11, 2013 at 7:39 am

    Wonderful post Sheila. Thank you. I am excited for the changes happening at COTP and for all that your learning.
    Tanya

     
  2. Linda Mc Intyre Howell

    March 11, 2013 at 7:59 am

    I loved the little fellows smile(the little boy with the orange tee shirt). For some reason his smile melted my heart.My neice, Ashley and her husband will soon bring their little boy home.I am so excited to meet my “GREAT” nephew! I am told you are his nurse,thank you for your blessings and care you give to the little angels. I have been a nurse for almost 29yrs,so I understand the bond you develope with the ones we care for.I always read your post and each one touches my heart.I never really thought of adoption until God lead my neice and her husband to adopt.I pray for those little ones.I admire you and your co-workers for helping to do God’s work.
    Blessings to the little kiddos and their angels, LINDA

     

What do you think?

 
