RSS

He First Loved Me

26 Feb

(To read part one of Devensly’s story check out the post Forever Changed)

There are times when our role in a child’s life is clear.  Touch her heart with genuine affection.  Bring life to his body with nutrients and medications.  Offer support and encouragement to her daddy so he can continue caring for her.  Bring peace and comfort to his last days and give him dignity as he goes to meet Jesus.

With Devensly it is not nearly as obvious.  Over the weekend there were days when he was getting much worse, when the calories, the antibiotics, the interventions were failing him and it seemed the end was imminent.  But this morning we saw some signs of progress and the future holds possibility again.  It is times like this when I am forever grateful that God is God and I am just me.  It is not up to me to decide whether his suffering is too great.  It is not up to me to decide if and when his body will be healed.  It is not up to me to decide whether his dad’s contradictory stories are justified.  It is not up to me to decide when he will be reunited with his heavenly daddy.  If these things were up to me, I wouldn’t be any good at deciding them.

The only thing that’s up to me is to love Devensly.  And I think I can be pretty good at that because He first loved me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2013 in The Kiddos

 

2 responses to “He First Loved Me

  1. Kris Thede

    February 27, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Praying for him and his great caretakers! Thanks for changing up the blog so that I can load it much faster!

     

What do you think?

 
